Current Edition

April the third has acquired a special meaning for the Friulian community, it is a true moment of rejoicing, of looking back on and recalling, from a contemporary point of view, those forms of self-government and representativeness that characterized the Land of Friuli for many years. On the Fieste days various venues are organized all over the Friulian territory culminating with a single celebrative one held every year in a different municipality. This year the main event will take place in South Friuli, in the province of Udine.

The Istitût Ladin Furlan will be coordinating it in collaboration with the Autonomous Region of Friuli-Venezia Giulia, the Provinces of Gorizia, Pordenone, Udine, the Dioceses of Concordia, Gorizia, Pordenone, Udine, the University of Friuli, the Regional Education Office, many local authorities, territorial associations and the whole region itself.


Host Municipalities

Over the years the Fieste de Patrie's main venues have been alternately hosted by various municipalities in the Friulian provinces of Gorizia, Pordenone, Udine. The celebrations generally include the Holy Mass in Friulian officiated by the three representatives of the Friulian Dioceses, the reading of the Imperial Bull institutuitive of the Patriarchal State, the banner hand over to the new host muncipality, local authorities' speeches. 

The host municipalities since 2002 have been:

2002: Aiello; 2003: Pantianicco; 2004: Spilimbergo; 2005: Ovaro; 2006: Cormons; 2007: Aquileia; 2008: Cordovado; 2009: Buja; 2010: Lucinico; 2011: Maniago.



On April the third nineteen ninety-seven, on the nine hundredth anniversary of Henry VII's Diploma,  Aquileia hosted the first edition of the Fieste. The creator and leading figure of the inaugural edition was Don Francesco Placeriani, while the following editions have been coordinated by the Istitût Ladin Furlan, later also called Pre Checo Placerean named after the original creator.

The Istitût Ladin Furlan has managed to turn the Fieste into a popular event by starting to collaborate with the municipalities that have accepted and hosted it such as: Codroipo, Dignano, Sedegliano, Valvasone, Spilimbergo (twice), San Daniele (twice), Udine, Mereto di Tomba (twice), Lestizza, Santa Maria la Longa, Bordano…

It acquired a joint and unifying meaning for the territory of the ancient Land of Friuli in 2002 when the provinces of Udine, Gorizia and Pordenone, the three dioceses of Friuli officially supported it.